The entrance to the Department of History’s office in Sidney Smith Hall
 
Photo of Robert Austin

Robert Austin

Senior Lecturer Munk School of Global Affairs, Room 128N
416-946-8942
robert.austin@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; State, Politics, and Law

Kenneth Bartlett

Kenneth Bartlett

Professor Victoria College, Room 202
416-585-4590
kenneth.bartlett@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Cultural and Intellectual

Doris Bergen

Professor; Chancellor Rose and Ray Wolfe Chair in Holocaust Studies Sidney Smith Hall, Room 2055
416-978-8483
doris.bergen@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Gender, Sex, and Sexualities; Religion and Society

Laurie Bertram

Laurie Bertram

Assistant Professor Sidney Smith Hall, Room 2055
416-946-0968
l.bertram@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Atlantic World; Canada; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; Food; Gender, Sex, and Sexualities; Migration/Diaspora

Image of Ritu Birla

Ritu Birla

Associate Professor Sidney Smith Hall, Rm 3056
416-978-8476
r.birla@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Britain and Ireland; South Asia; Cultural and Intellectual; Economy, Technology and Society; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; Gender, Sex, and Sexualities; International Relations; State, Politics, and Law

Photo of Heidi Bohaker

Heidi Bohaker

Associate Professor Sidney Smith Hall, Room 2086
416-946-0978
heidi.bohaker@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Canada; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; State, Politics, and Law

Photo of Robert Bothwell

Robert Bothwell

Professor; May Gluskin Chair in Canadian History Munk School of Global Affairs, Room 307N
416-946-8948
bothwell@chass.utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Atlantic World; Britain and Ireland; Canada; United States; Economy, Technology and Society; International Relations; State, Politics, and Law

Professor Carol Chin.

Carol Chin

Associate Professor (On Leave) 416-978-5782
carol.chin@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: East Asia; United States; Cultural and Intellectual; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; Gender, Sex, and Sexualities; International Relations

Photo of Isabelle Cochelin

Isabelle Cochelin

Associate Professor University College, Room F103
416-978-7414
isabelle.cochelin@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Cultural and Intellectual; Religion and Society; Social; Medieval

Paul Cohen

Paul Cohen

Associate Professor Sidney Smith Hall, Room 2087
p.cohen@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Atlantic World; Europe; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Cultural and Intellectual; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; Food; Religion and Society; Social

Photo of Jason Dyck

Jason Dyck

Assistant Professor Sidney Smith Hall, Room 3111
jason.dyck@utoronto.ca

Nicholas Everett

Professor Sidney Smith Hall, Room 3113
n.everett@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Africa; Britain and Ireland; Europe; Mediterranean and Middle East; Cultural and Intellectual; Economy, Technology and Society; Food; International Relations; Medicine; Religion and Society; Social; State, Politics, and Law; Medieval

Fiorella Foscarini

Associate Professor, Faculty of Information (iSchool) (Non-Budgetary Cross Appointment) BL 638
416-978-8295
fiorella.foscarini@utoronto.ca

Takashi Fujitani

Professor; Dr. David Chu Professor in Asia-Pacific Studies (On Leave) Munk School of Global Affairs, Room 224N
416-946-8995
t.fujitani@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: East Asia; United States; Cultural and Intellectual; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; Migration/Diaspora; State, Politics, and Law

Photo of Shami Ghosh

Shami Ghosh

Assistant Professor Sidney Smith Hall, Room 2053
shami.ghosh@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Cultural and Intellectual; Economy, Technology and Society; Religion and Society; Social; Medieval

Ryan Hall

University College Fellow University College, Room A306
416-978-5066
rc.hall@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Canada; United States; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity

Photo of Jens Hanssen

Jens Hanssen

Associate Professor Erindale Hall Residence, 1525 Outer Circle, Room 213B
416-978-3143
jens.hanssen@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Mediterranean and Middle East; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Cultural and Intellectual; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity

Photo of Sean Hawkins

Sean Hawkins

Associate Professor (On Leave) University College, Room D201
416-978-7418
sean.hawkins@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Africa; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Social

Adrienne Hood

Associate Professor & Associate Chair, Graduate Sidney Smith Hall, 100 St. George Street, Room 2072
416-978-3758
history.gradac@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Atlantic World; Britain and Ireland; United States; Cultural and Intellectual; Economy, Technology and Society; Social

Photo of Brian Jacobson

Brian Jacobson

Assistant Professor Innis College, Rm 232
416-978-8572
brian.jacobson@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; United States; Cultural and Intellectual; Economy, Technology and Society

Photo of Jennifer Jenkins

Jennifer Jenkins

Associate Professor Munk School of Global Affairs, 1 Devonshire Place, Toronto, ON, M5S 3K7, Room 206N
416-946-8944
jl.jenkins@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Mediterranean and Middle East; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Cultural and Intellectual; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity

Photo of Eric Jennings

Eric Jennings

Distinguished Professor in the History of France and the Francophonie Northrop Frye Hall, Room 310
416-585-4431
eric.jennings@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Africa; Atlantic World; Europe; Latin America and Caribbean; Southeast Asia; Cultural and Intellectual; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; Medicine; Migration/Diaspora

Photograph of Professor W. Christopher Johnson

W. Christopher Johnson

Assistant Professor Wilson Hall, New College, Room 2030
wchris.johnson@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Atlantic World; Britain and Ireland; Latin America and Caribbean; United States; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; Gender, Sex, and Sexualities; Migration/Diaspora

Jüri Kivimäe

Professor; Elmar Tampold Chair of Estonian Studies Sidney Smith Hall, Room 2056
jkivimae@chass.utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe

Thomas Lahusen

Professor Munk School of Global Affairs, Room 319N
416-946-8995
thomas.lahusen@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: East Asia; Russia; Cultural and Intellectual; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; Migration/Diaspora; Social

Photo of Lori Loeb

Lori Loeb

Associate Professor & MA Coordinator Northrop Frye Hall, 73 Queen's Park Crescent East, Room 311
416-585-4410
lori.loeb@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Britain and Ireland; Cultural and Intellectual; Economy, Technology and Society; Social

Margaret MacMillan

Fields of Study: Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; International Relations

Paul Robert Magocsi

Professor; John Yaremko Chair of Ukrainian Studies Jackman Humanities Building, Room 201
416-978-3332
ukr.chair@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Cultural and Intellectual; Migration/Diaspora; Religion and Society; State, Politics, and Law

Photo of Bertie Mandelblatt

Bertie Mandelblatt

Assistant Professor & TA Coordinator Sidney Smith Hall, 100 St. George Street, Room 3115
bertie.mandelblatt@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Atlantic World; Latin America and Caribbean; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; Food

Photo of Lisa Mar

Lisa Mar

Associate Professor; Richard Charles Lee Chair in Chinese Canadian Studies University College, 15 King’s College Circle, Room 150
416-978-8087
lisa.mar@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Canada; East Asia; United States; Cultural and Intellectual; Migration/Diaspora; Social; State, Politics, and Law

Michael Marrus

Professor Emeritus Massey College, Room 3
416-946-0648
michael.marrus@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; State, Politics, and Law

Photo of Mark McGowan

Mark McGowan

Professor & Senior Academic Advisor to the Dean, International Sidney Smith Hall, Room 2061
416-946-5028
mark.mcgowan@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Britain and Ireland; Canada; United States; Migration/Diaspora; Religion and Society; Social

Milena Methodieva

Assistant Professor Sidney Smith Hall, Room 3115
milena.methodieva@utoronto.ca

Mark Meyerson

Professor Sidney Smith Hall, Room 3071
meyerson@chass.utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Mediterranean and Middle East; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Religion and Society; Medieval

Sean Mills

Sean Mills

Associate Professor Sidney Smith Hall, Room 2055A
sean.mills@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Canada; Latin America and Caribbean; Cultural and Intellectual; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; Migration/Diaspora

Cecilia Morgan

Professor, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE), Non Budgetary Cross Appointment 252 Bloor St. W, Room 10-172
416-978-1209
cecilia.morgan@utoronto.ca

Photo of Jennifer Mori

Jennifer Mori

Professor & Associate Chair, Undergraduate Sidney Smith Hall, 100 St. George Street, Toronto, ON, M5S 3G3, Room 2076
416-978-3368
history.ugchr@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Britain and Ireland; State, Politics, and Law

Photo of Michelle Murphy

Michelle Murphy

Professor Wilson Hall, New College, Room 2039
416-978-8964
michelle.murphy@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Canada; United States; Cultural and Intellectual; Economy, Technology and Society; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; Gender, Sex, and Sexualities; Medicine; State, Politics, and Law

Photo of Nakanyike Musisi

Nakanyike Musisi

Associate Professor Sidney Smith Hall, 100 St. George St., Toronto, ON, M5S 3G3, Room 3082
416-978-3366
nakanyike.musisi@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Africa; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Gender, Sex, and Sexualities; Social

Melanie Newton

Associate Professor Sidney Smith Hall, 100 St. George St., Toronto, ON, M5S 3G3, Room 2063
416-978-8482
melanie.newton@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Atlantic World; Latin America and Caribbean; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Gender, Sex, and Sexualities; Social

Photo of Steve Penfold

Steve Penfold

Associate Professor (On Leave) Sidney Smith Hall, Room 2072
416-978-3758
steve.penfold@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Canada; Cultural and Intellectual; Economy, Technology and Society

Photo of Derek Penslar

Derek Penslar

Professor; Samuel J. Zacks Chair of Jewish History Sidney Smith Hall, 100 St. George Street, Room 2064
416-978-0339
derek.penslar@utoronto..ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Mediterranean and Middle East; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Cultural and Intellectual; Economy, Technology and Society; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; International Relations; Migration/Diaspora; Religion and Society; State, Politics, and Law

Ronald Pruessen - Department of History

Ronald Pruessen

Professor Sidney Smith Hall, Room 2085
416-946-0977
pruessen@chass.utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: United States; International Relations

Photo of Ian Radforth

Ian Radforth

Professor University College, 15 King's College Circle, Room 247, Toronto, ON M5S 3H7
416-978-8106
i.radforth@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Canada; Cultural and Intellectual; Economy, Technology and Society; Migration/Diaspora; Social

Photo of James Retallack

James Retallack

Professor Munk School of Global Affairs, 1 Devonshire Place, Room 120N, Toronto, ON M5S 3K7
james.retallack@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Cultural and Intellectual; Social; State, Politics, and Law

Photo of Timothy Sayle

Timothy Andrews Sayle

Assistant Professor Sidney Smith Hall, 100 St George St. Rm 3075, Toronto, ON M5S 3G3
tim.sayle@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Britain and Ireland; Canada; Europe; United States; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; International Relations; State, Politics, and Law

Photo of Edward Shorter

Edward Shorter

Professor & Hannah Chair in the History of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine Fitzgerald Building, 150 College Street, Room 83G, Toronto, ON, Canada M5S 1A8
416-978-2124
history.medicine@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Atlantic World; Europe; Cultural and Intellectual; Gender, Sex, and Sexualities; Medicine; Social

Photo of Alison K. Smith

Fields of Study: Russia; Food; Social; State, Politics, and Law

Photo of Nicholas Terpstra

Nicholas Terpstra

Professor & Chair Sidney Smith Hall, 100 St. George Street, Room 2073
416-978-3364
nicholas.terpstra@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Mediterranean and Middle East; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Cultural and Intellectual; Economy, Technology and Society; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; Gender, Sex, and Sexualities; Social; State, Politics, and Law

Photo of Nhung Tuyet Tran

Nhung Tuyet Tran

Associate Professor Sidney Smith Hall, 100 St. George Street, Room 3100, Toronto, ON M5S 3G3
nhungtuyet.tran@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Southeast Asia; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Food; Gender, Sex, and Sexualities; Religion and Society; State, Politics, and Law

Luis van Isschot

Assistant Professor Sidney Smith Hall, 100 St George St, Room 3109, Toronto, ON M5S 3G3
luis.vanisschot@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Latin America and Caribbean; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Economy, Technology and Society; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity

Photo of Lynne Viola

Lynne Viola

University Professor Munk School of Global Affairs, Room 112N
lynne.viola@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Russia; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; Empires, Colonialisms and Indigeneity; Social; State, Politics, and Law

Y. Yvon Wang

Y. Yvon Wang

Assistant Professor Sidney Smith Hall, 100 St George St, Room 2082, Toronto, ON M5S 3G3
yyvon.wang@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: East Asia; Cultural and Intellectual; Economy, Technology and Society; Gender, Sex, and Sexualities; Social

Photo of Piotr Wróbel

Piotr Wróbel

Associate Professor; Konstanty Reynert Chair of Polish History Munk School of Global Affairs, Room 212N
416-946-8971
piotr.wrobel@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Conflict, Violence and Genocide; International Relations

Photo of Ori Yehudai

Ori Yehudai

Assistant Professor TBA
ori.yehudai@utoronto.ca

Fields of Study: Europe; Mediterranean and Middle East; Migration/Diaspora; Social; State, Politics, and Law